2015 – Gary Solon

12th Annual W.J. Usery Distinguished Lecture – 2015

Gary Solon

Dr. Gary Solon

Dr. Gary Solon

“Intergenerational Income Mobility: What Have We Learned from More Than Thirty Years of Research?”
Wednesday, November 11th, 10:30 am

Professor Gary Solon, Professor of Economics at the University of Arizona, presented the 12th Annual W.J. Usery Lecture on October 8, 2013, 10:30-noon, at the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, Georgia State University, in AYS Seminar Room 749 (seventh floor). His topic was “Intergenerational Income Mobility: What Have We Learned from More Than Thirty Years of Research?”

Professor Solon is a Fellow of the Society of Labor Economists (SOLE), Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research, and Project Leader on Social Mobility Trends at the Stanford Poverty Research Center. He was previously Professor of Economics at the University of Michigan and Michigan State University. He received his bachelor’s degree from Harvard University and Ph.D. from Princeton University.

Solon’s research is in labor economics and applied econometrics. He is widely known for his research on the intergenerational transmission of income and other measures of socioeconomic status, which will be the focus of his Usery Lecture. In recent years his research has concentrated on how wages and earnings volatility vary over economic expansions and recessions. Throughout his career, he has provided important contributions on microeconometric methods.

The annual W.J. Usery Distinguished Lecture Series, inaugurated in 2005, features leading economists addressing important issues in the American workplace. The series honors former U.S. Secretary of Labor Bill Usery, the Distinguished Executive Fellow in Labor Policy at the Andrew Young School, for his contributions to the well-being of workers and the American workplace during many years of service in government and the private sector.

Previous presenters are Robert Moffitt, Edward Lazear, Janet Currie, David Card, Robert Groves, Claudia Goldin, Katherine Abraham, David Autor, Lisa Lynch, Alan Krueger and Richard Freeman.

Presentation Video