W.J. Usery Lecture Series

15th Annual W.J. Usery Distinguished Lecture – 2018

Hilary Hoynes

Dr. Raj Chetty

Dr. Hilary Hoynes

Safety Net Investments in Children
Monday, November 5th, 10:30 am

Hilary Hoynes, the Haas Distinguished Chair in Economic Disparities and Professor of Public Policy and Economics at the University of California Berkeley, will present the 15th Annual W.J. Usery Lecture on November 5, 2018, 10:30-noon, at the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies, Georgia State University, in AYS Seminar Room 749/750 (seventh floor).

Professor Hoynes topic is “Safety Net Investments in Children,” which focuses on the changes over time in safety net programs for families and how they help the poorest children.

In addition to her position at the University of California Berkeley, Professor Hoynes is a Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) and a member of the American Economic Association’s Executive Committee, the Federal Commission on Evidence-Based Policy Making, the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Building an Agenda to Reduce the Number of Children and Families Out of Poverty. She has sat on committees at the National Science Foundation, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and has been a Co-editor at the American Economic Journal: Economic Policy. Professor Hoynes was previously a Professor at UC Davis. She received her undergraduate degree in Economics and Mathematics at Colby College and her PhD in Economics from Stanford.

The annual W.J. Usery Distinguished Lecture Series, inaugurated in 2005, features leading economists addressing important issues in the American workplace. The series honors W.J. Usery, a former U.S. Secretary of Labor and Distinguished Executive Fellow in Labor Policy at the Andrew Young School. Bill Usery’s lifetime work contributed to the well-being of workers and the American workplace during his years of service in government and the private sector.

Previous presenters are Joseph Altonji, Raj Chetty, Gary Solon, Robert Moffitt, Edward Lazear, Janet Currie, David Card, Robert Groves, Claudia Goldin, Katherine Abraham, David Autor, Lisa Lynch, Alan Krueger, and Richard Freeman.

The lecture is free and open to the public. For questions, contact Barry Hirsch at bhirsch@gsu.edu.